Come Sign with Santa!

Deaf Camps, Inc. Christmas Party

Saturday, December 17
2-5 PM
santa with bag


Christ United Methodist Church of the Deaf
1040 S Beechfield Ave
Baltimore, MD 21229

All ages and signing levels welcome!
Admission: $5
Parents free with child’s admission

Admission includes:

  • A visit with Signing Santa
  • ASL Storytelling
  • Snacks
  • Crafts
  • One free picture with Santa per child.  (Additional pictures available for a small fee.)

All proceeds benefit Deaf Camps, Inc.’s 2017 scholarship fund.

Come Eat & Shop at the Kiwanis Country Breakfast/DCI Flea Market!

Sponsored by The Kiwanis Club of Ellicott City in its 76th YEAR OF COMMUNITY SERVICE in Ellicott City and Howard County!

Saturday, November 5th, 8:00 to 11:00 a.m.

Bethany United Methodist Church, 2875 Bethany Lane, Ellicott City, MD 21042

thusq1taepAll-you-can-eat breakfast (pancakes, eggs, Boarman’s sausage, sausage gravy, biscuits and beverages) $8.00 for adults. Children under 8 eat free

Breakfast proceeds support Ellicott City.

Flea market proceeds support Deaf Camps, Inc.’s Scholarship program.

fleamarketg

Thank you to our 2016 donors & sponsors!

Deaf Camps, Inc would like to thank our 2016 sponsors. Our volunteers, families, and especially our campers deeply appreciate your generosity and support!

Find out how you can support us by going to the “Support Deaf Camps, Inc” tab at the top of the page.

Epic thanks!

Kathy MacMillan stands in front of a mantelpiece speaking into a microphone while a woman beside her interprets in American Sign Language.

Sharing the inspirations behind SWORD AND VERSE.

Thank you to everyone who came out Friday night for our Sword and Verse Gala to benefit Deaf Camps, Inc.  With your help, we raised over $2600 for the Deaf Camps, Inc. scholarship fund.

Thank you to all the volunteers who worked hard to pull this event off; to Elaine Benson and Joanne Westerman, who provided interpreting services for the evening; to the staff of Grey Rock Mansion and Simply Elegant Catering, who hosted us in style, and to the many donors who made this event possible:

Registration is Open for Camp 2016!

Deaf Camp

For ages 7-19; July 24-29, 2016 at Manidokan Camp and Retreat Center   $450

Get ready for the most fun week of the summer! Campers will participate in swimming, hiking, arts and crafts, and other great camp activities, and will learn about God’s love through daily religious education lessons and chapel. All activities will be conducted in American Sign Language. Campers will be grouped by age based on enrollment.

Register Online

Printable registration form

Financial aid information

 

American Sign Language Camp

For ages 7-18; July 24-29, 2016 at Manidokan Camp and Retreat Center   $450

Ready, set, sign! Campers will participate in swimming, hiking, religious education, and chapel, as well as learning the basics of American Sign Language through informal daily lessons, and then using what they learn through shared activities with Deaf campers! Campers will be grouped by age based on enrollment. Older ASL campers will share lodging and all daily activities with Deaf campers.

Register Online 

Printable registration form

Financial aid information

 

Young Adult Deaf Camp

For ages 18 and up; June 19-24, 2016 at West River Camping Center     $455

Swimming, boating, and other fun camp activities in ASL.  For developmentally delayed deaf adults.

Register online

For financial aid information, contact Lisa Jordan at gordoner1@aol.com.

Sword and Verse Gala/Fundraiser Rescheduled to January 29

Due to the predicted blizzard this weekend, the Sword and Verse Gala has been rescheduled to next Friday, January 29.  We hope that everyone stays warm and safe this weekend!

With the date change, we are able to reopen ticket sales through January 27.   Purchase tickets online.

Sword and Verse Gala

Picture1Join us for an elegant evening celebrating the launch of Sword and Verse, the debut young adult novel by our own Kathy MacMillan. Proceeds from this event will support Deaf Camps, Inc.’s scholarship fund!

 


img-greyrockmansion-01

Friday, January 22, 2016

RESCHEDULED TO Friday, January 29, 2016 due to snow
6-9 PM
Grey Rock Mansion
400 Grey Rock Road
Pikesville, MD 21208

Tickets: $100 per person

Ticket includes:
-Full dinner
-Unlimited wine, soft drinks, coffee, and tea
-a signed hardcover first edition of Sword and Verse

Door prizes ~ Silent auction ~ 50/50 Raffle

This event will be accessible in English and American Sign Language.

All proceeds benefit Deaf Camps, Inc.’s scholarship fund.

Purchase tickets online.

More about the book:

Sword And Verse coverSword and Verse by Kathy MacMillan (HarperTeen, January 19, 2016)

In a sweeping fantasy that award-winning author Franny Billingsley calls “fascinating and unique,” debut author Kathy MacMillan weaves palace intrigue and epic world-building to craft a tale for fans of Rae Carson and Megan Whalen Turner.

Raisa was just a child when she was sold into slavery in the kingdom of Qilara. Despite her young age, her father had been adamant that she learn to read and write. But where she now lives, literacy is a capital offense for all but the nobility. The written language is closely protected, and only the King, Prince, Tutor, and Tutor-in-training are allowed to learn its very highest form. So when she is plucked from her menial labor and selected to replace the last Tutor-in-training who was executed, Raisa knows that betraying any hint of her past could mean death.

Keeping her secret guarded is hard enough, but the romance that’s been blossoming between her and Prince Mati isn’t helping matters. Then Raisa is approached by the Resistance—an underground rebel army—to help liberate the city’s slaves. She wants to free her people, but that would mean aiding a war against Mati. As Raisa struggles with what to do, she discovers a secret that the Qilarites have been hiding for centuries—one that, if uncovered, could bring the kingdom to its knees.

“I was completely enthralled by the fascinating and unique world that Kathy MacMillan has created.  The depth and skill she demonstrates with her ability to build an original mythology based on words and the power of language are highly unusual for a first-time novelist and I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough.” – National Book Award finalist Franny Billingsley

“A tense, romantic fantasy epic about prejudice, political struggle, and the power of words, SWORD AND VERSE kept me guessing at every turn. Kathy MacMillan is a writer to watch.” — R.J. Anderson, Andre Norton Award-nominated author of ULTRAVIOLET

Kathy MacMillan has been volunteering with Deaf Camps, Inc. since 2001, has directed the Middle Deaf Camp since 2003, and has served as Board president since 2006.  In her day job, she is a nationally certified American Sign Language interpreter, writer, children’s performer, and librarian.  Sword and Verse is her eighth published book and her debut novel. Find out more about her books at www.kathymacmillan.com.

Sword and Verse Gala/Fundraiser

Picture1Join us for an elegant evening celebrating the launch of Sword and Verse, the debut young adult novel by our own Kathy MacMillan. Proceeds from this event will support Deaf Camps, Inc.’s scholarship fund!

 


img-greyrockmansion-01Friday, January 22, 2016

RESCHEDULED TO Friday, January 29, 2016 due to snow
6-9 PM
Grey Rock Mansion
400 Grey Rock Road
Pikesville, MD 21208

Tickets: $100 per person

Ticket includes:
-Full dinner
-Unlimited wine, soft drinks, coffee, and tea
-a signed hardcover first edition of Sword and Verse

Door prizes ~ Silent auction ~ 50/50 Raffle

This event will be accessible in English and American Sign Language.

All proceeds benefit Deaf Camps, Inc.’s scholarship fund.

Purchase tickets online.

More about the book:

Sword And Verse coverSword and Verse by Kathy MacMillan (HarperTeen, January 19, 2016)

In a sweeping fantasy that award-winning author Franny Billingsley calls “fascinating and unique,” debut author Kathy MacMillan weaves palace intrigue and epic world-building to craft a tale for fans of Rae Carson and Megan Whalen Turner.

Raisa was just a child when she was sold into slavery in the kingdom of Qilara. Despite her young age, her father had been adamant that she learn to read and write. But where she now lives, literacy is a capital offense for all but the nobility. The written language is closely protected, and only the King, Prince, Tutor, and Tutor-in-training are allowed to learn its very highest form. So when she is plucked from her menial labor and selected to replace the last Tutor-in-training who was executed, Raisa knows that betraying any hint of her past could mean death.

Keeping her secret guarded is hard enough, but the romance that’s been blossoming between her and Prince Mati isn’t helping matters. Then Raisa is approached by the Resistance—an underground rebel army—to help liberate the city’s slaves. She wants to free her people, but that would mean aiding a war against Mati. As Raisa struggles with what to do, she discovers a secret that the Qilarites have been hiding for centuries—one that, if uncovered, could bring the kingdom to its knees.

“I was completely enthralled by the fascinating and unique world that Kathy MacMillan has created.  The depth and skill she demonstrates with her ability to build an original mythology based on words and the power of language are highly unusual for a first-time novelist and I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough.” – National Book Award finalist Franny Billingsley

“A tense, romantic fantasy epic about prejudice, political struggle, and the power of words, SWORD AND VERSE kept me guessing at every turn. Kathy MacMillan is a writer to watch.” — R.J. Anderson, Andre Norton Award-nominated author of ULTRAVIOLET

Kathy MacMillan has been volunteering with Deaf Camps, Inc. since 2001, has directed the Middle Deaf Camp since 2003, and has served as Board president since 2006.  In her day job, she is a nationally certified American Sign Language interpreter, writer, children’s performer, and librarian.  Sword and Verse is her eighth published book and her debut novel. Find out more about her books at www.kathymacmillan.com.